Delivering resources to save time, lives, and money

NOCoE News: TSMO Award Submissions Now Open

Submit your best TSMO projects in four categories and nominate a leader for the Joey Sagal TSMO Leadership Award.
NOCoE Logo

May 9, 2024

2024 TSMO Award Submissions are now open
The NOCoE TSMO Awards celebrate the TSMO strategies and tools that leverage existing infrastructure to increase safety and reliability. Each year, NOCoE awards winners in four award categories and one Overall Winner chosen from those four categories.

Winners are celebrated at an industry event and their work is featured via NOCoE's partners and other industry leaders.

Most award submissions are also turned into NOCoE Case Studies, which form a library of TSMO strategies, tactics, and best practices that can be shared with other TSMO practitioners and organizations.
2024 TSMO Awards category description for Best TSMO Project

Previous Best TSMO Project Winners:

2023: Maryland DOT for their "I-270 Innovative Congestion Management (ICM) Ramp Metering"

2022: New Jersey DOT for their "Improvements to Route 1 Using TSMO"

2021: Pennsylvania DOT for their "TSMO Performance Program and Traffic Operations Analytics Tool"
2024 TSMO Awards category description for Agency Improvement

Previous Agency Improvement Winners:

2023: Texas DOT for their "TxDOT TSMO Program - From Planning to Implementation"

2022 Co-Winner: Manatee County for their "Expansion of TSMO Capabilities to Enhance Multimodal Safety Operation"

2022 Co-Winner: Florida DOT for their "Central Office TSMO Implementation Plan"

2021: North Carolina DOT for their "TIM Training Track"
2024 TSMO Awards category description for Emerging Practices and Technologies

Previous Emerging Practices and Technologies Winners:

2023: Arizona DOT for their "Applying Emerging Technologies to the Arizona DOT Traveler Information Program"
2024 TSMO Award category Traffic Signals
2024 Joey Sagal TSMO Leadership Award
Since 2019, NOCoE has named a TSMO Champion, an individual who has made significant contributions to advancing TSMO both inside their organization and within the industry at-large. The award is given via nominations from the industry, and then nominees are ranked by the leadership of the NOCoE partnership organizations.

This year, NOCoE has renamed the award to the Joey Sagal TSMO Leadership Award. The award will maintain the same criteria and process as before and add a few items reflecting Joey Sagal’s legacy in the industry. Full criteria for nominees will be:
  • Advancing TSMO inside their organization(s)
  • Advancing TSMO across the country or within the industry at-large
  • Demonstrated contributions across areas of TSMO, from road side assistance and TIM to project delivery and organizational management
  • Demonstrated workforce development for personnel, including via career planning, training, or organizational culture

Upcoming Webinars

Talking TIM May 2024 webinar
Coffee Break TSMO May 2024 webinar

Transportation Operations Manual

AASHTO Transportation Operations Manual First Edition

DOTs Receive 5 Free Licenses of the TOM with Their AASHTO Membership

How to Access:
  1. Contact your DOT library about obtaining seats
  2. If you don't know who to contact, then contact Nick Ramfos:

About the National Operations Center of Excellence (NOCoE)

NOCoE provides services to the transportation systems management and operations (TSMO) community to saves lives, improve travel times, and enhance economic vitality. With an emphasis on workforce development, NOCoE aims to assist in the deployment of technologies and the mainstreaming of TSMO solutions by fostering education, networking, communication, and knowledge transfer.

For more information, please visit
Contact Us
National Operations Center of Excellence
555 12th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20004
Ph: 202.624.5478

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.