TSMO Awards

2nd Annual TSMO Awards

The second annual TSMO Awards will be open for submissions from August 15 - October 11, 2019.

The four categories for this year's awards are:

  • Best TSMO Project or Strategy Implementation
  • Agency Improvement: Use of Capability Maturity Model (CMM)
  • TSMO Workforce Development
  • Best Use of Management of Data to Improve TSMO

Stay tuned to this webpage for more information and be sure to sign-up for our newsletter for up-to-date information on the awards submission process.

TSMO Awards Overview

Beginning in 2018, The National Operations Center of Excellence (NOCoE) Transportation Systems Management & Operations (TSMO) Awards were given to celebrate your successes and to showcase the very best in our industry. These awards will celebrate the use of TSMO, encourage its expansion throughout the United States, and in line with our mission, we will also share your impactful and creative solutions with the industry. 

The NOCoE TSMO Awards are open to any city, county, MPO (RPO, COG), state DOT or private sector organization. A panel of TSMO expert judges will selected winners in the four primary categories described below. Additionally, an overall winning submission from among the category winner and announced at TRB Annual meeting. Judges will also select an individual to be honored as the TSMO Champion of the Year, chosen for his or her work in advancing the TSMO cause and changing the way people think about transportation.

The submissions for the winners, runners-up will be turned into case studies. The knowledge and practices from additional submissions will also be captured via case studies, webinars, and the NOCoE Knowledge Center.

2018 NOCoE TSMO Award Winners

Best TSMO project (creative solution) Recognizing a successful “on the ground” project that demonstrates the solution(s) of improved system management and operations compared with traditional capacity-based approaches.

  • Winner – Arizona Department of Transportation, US-60 Restripe Project: ArizonaDOT Transforms Road Safety Using Full Suite of TSMO Capabilities (reducing crashes by 70% on an interstate merge) (see case study)
  • Runner Up – Arizona Department of Transportation, ArizonaDOT’s Wrong-Way Vehicle Detection System & State Trooper Co-Location (see case study)


Improving your agency’s TSMO capabilities Recognizing an agency or organization that has successfully integrated CMM/CMF into its structure and the TSMO benefit that came from it.

  • Winner – ITS Heartland Chapter of ITS America and HDR – ITS Heartland’s TSMO University Educational Program (see case study)
  • Runner Up – Florida Department of Transportation, Florida’s Truck Parking Availability System (TPAS) (see case study)


    Major incident or special event planning and response Recognizing an agency or organization’s response to a specific incident or special event utilizing TSMO.

    • Winner – North Carolina Department of Transportation - NCDOT Hurricane Florence Preparation and Response (see case study)

    ***North Carolina DOT was also chosen as the Overall Winner***

    • Runner Up – Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT), Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission (PTC), Pennsylvania Emergency Management Agency (PEMA) and Information Logistics, Inc. (ILOG) - 511PAConnect (two-way direct emergency communication between the agency and a stranded traveler’s smartphone) (see case study)


    Public Communications Recognizing an agency for successfully increasing public or specific audience awareness of TSMO solutions and benefits.

    • Winner – Oregon Department of Transportation, @OregonTIMResponders: Use of Social Media to Engage Oregon Responders Across Disciplines and Promote Responder Safety Laws and Practices (see case study)
    • Runner Up – Michigan Department of Transportation, Development and Maintenance of the MDOT TSMO Implementation and Strategic Plan (see case study)